Phnom Penh (FN), Nov. 28 - The National Election Committee (NEC) Cambodia's election body decided Tuesday to give to the ruling party 11 seats in parliament previously held by the main opposition party ordered dissolved earlier this month.

The CPP now holds 79 of the 123 seats in parliament.

Last week the NEC reallocated 44 of the 55 seats in parliament held by the Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP).

It gave 41 to the royalist FUNCINPEC party, two to the Cambodian Nationality Party and one to the Economic Development for Khmer Party, while the two minor parties rejected parliamentary seats set to be redistributed to them under newly amended laws.

The League for Democracy Party, headed by Khem Veasna, was due to claim six seats, and the Khmer Anti-Poverty Party, led by Daran Kravanh, would have been handed five, but the parties have said the seats were “meaningless” and it would be unfair to contradict the voters’ will.