BANGKOK, March 24 (Xinhua) -- Thailand's Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation on Saturday night issued a tsunami warning for six provinces, including Ranong, Phuket, Phang Nga, Krabi, Trang and Satun, after earthquakes occurred in the Indian Ocean.

The warning said a 5.0-magnitude earthquake hit the area around Andaman Islands of India at 6:29 p.m. local time on Saturday, followed by a 5.2-magnitude at 6:34 p.m., which is 630 kilometers away from the shore of Thailand's Phuket Province.

The department asked the six provinces to keep following the situation in case Tsunami hits.