BERLIN, March 16 (CNN) - As of this morning, Germany has shut its borders with Austria, Switzerland, France, Luxembourg and Denmark, as the coronavirus spreads across Europe.

Anyone wishing to enter from those countries after 3 a.m. ET Monday will need a good reason to do so, German interior minister Horst Seehofer said in Berlin Sunday.

Goods and commuters will be exempt from the ban, he said.