SINGAPORE, April 30 (CNA) - Singapore will stop entry or transit for visitors with recent travel history to Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, the COVID-19 multi-ministry task force said on Friday (Apr 30).

The ban starts on May 2 and covers all long-term pass holders and short-term visitors who have been in the four countries in the last 14 days, including transit.

It will also apply to those who have obtained prior entry approval from Singapore authorities, said co-chair of the task force Lawrence Wong.

Those with recent travel history to the four countries, who are serving a 14-day stay-home notice in Singapore as of May 3, will have this extended by another seven days at dedicated stay-home facilities.

They will also have to take a COVID-19 polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test on their arrival, on the 14th day of their stay-home notice, and before the end of their 21-day notice.

These measures come after a “deterioration” in the COVID-19 situation in India, with the infection spreading beyond India to the surrounding countries, said Mr Wong. India is registering more than 300,000 new cases daily.

In addition, all travellers entering Singapore from May 3 with travel history to Thailand in the past 14 days will have to serve a 14-day stay-home notice at a dedicated facility. Currently, they are allowed to serve the notice at their place of residence.

Thailand is experiencing a third wave of COVID-19 cases, reporting about 2,000 new daily cases. The spike has prompted shutdowns in Bangkok and other areas.

Singapore will maintain its current conditions for suspension of the travel bubble with Hong Kong, said Mr Wong.